Oruka – The history of Life, the Multiverse, and Everything

Hello all, this week I’m driving away from the regular story and delving into the creation story of my world. I think this will be a three part post, but depending on how much I ramble, you might get four instead 😉

So enjoy!

The Age of Ascension

The Age of Ascension marks the beginning of life, the multiverse, and everything. Sparks of life came into existence and ascended into the first gods, known as the Ancient Gods, and it was these beings who created the Inner Planes to fill the Void.

The first and oldest of the Ancients is known as Lokaci-Rabo, the Goddess of Time and Fate. With her ascension, the pulse of the Cosmos started to beat, slow and steady. This gave rise to Fharlanghn, the God of Space and Travel. He was drawn to her rhythm and in searching for her, he created the Weylines – the flow of energies across the Cosmos that attuned to that music. When they finally met, their dance created the Nexus, from which the multiverse would forever centre.

Oorun came next, the God of Life, and in his inspiration created the foundations of the Material Plane around the Nexus. With the aid of Haske, the God of Light; Aurelian, the Goddess of Colour; Kyandir, the Goddess of Shadows; and Matashi, the God of Darkness, the structure of the Material Plane was built. But there was something missing until Iku came to be, the Goddess of Death, and with her final touch, the Material Plane was complete.

Ba Kome Ba, the God of the Void awoke to the noise now pulsing through the Weylines, and in his sleeping wrath he broke the Material Plane, sundering their creation into three: the Prime, the Feywild, and the Shadowfell; held together by Iku’s will – the Ethereal Plane. The Sundering also sparked the chaos of the elements to form the Titans of Air, Earth, Fire, and Water. From that moment on the Elemental Planes wrapped around themselves around the Material Planes, forming the Inner Planes.

Although they could not kill Ba Kome Ba, the Ancients sought help from Eadro, the Goddess of the Astral Sea, who used her powers to quieten the pulse that emanated from the Nexus and Weylines, and lulled the God of the Void back to sleep. A time of quiet ensued, allowing for the Ancients to rebuild their planes.

Within the Prime Material, Oorun set forth to create the first sentient inhabitants, the dragons. They rose up above all other creatures – embracing their strengths and seeking power. The Age of Ascension ended when the dragons ascended to godhood, to be known as the Elder Gods.

Quick Reference: The Ancients:

Goddess of Time and Fate – Lokaci-Rabo
God of Space and Travel – Fharlanghn
God of the Void – Ba Kome Ba
Goddess of the Astral Sea – Eadro
God of Life – Oorun
Goddess of Death – Iku
God of Light – Haske
Goddess of Colours – Aurelian
Goddess of Shadows – Kyandir
God of Darkness – Matashi
Elemental Titan of Air
Elemental Titan of Earth
Elemental Titan of Fire
Elemental Titan of Water